Movies that make me cry: Finding Dory

Not all movies make me cry. I’m not necessarily a major weeper, but if a movie or a TV show strikes just the right chord, then my tears are a melody of all my feels.

That being said, there are some movies that make me cry more than most – and make me cry every time I watch them. This is one of those movies. (Beware: there are obviously spoilers.)

It’s almost not even worth it writing this one because of course Finding Dory made me cry. It’s like Pixar is actually Monsters Inc., but instead of discovering that they can turn laughter into a reusable energy source, they’ve figured out how to do the same with our tears.

Because every Pixar movie has made me cry in some way or another.

So really, it’s no surprise that the sequel to a fish movie that made me cry would also make me cry. I missed seeing it in theatres, so Netflix it was. I was pre-warned by my friend that I’d need a box of tissues near the end, but about halfway through the movie I started to get cocky.

I won’t cry this time. I wrongly thought to myself as Ty Burrell-as-a-beluga made me laugh again. Maybe I don’t cry as much at these kinds of things as I used to.

And by “used to” I mean last month.

But then Dory was lost again. And she trying to remember who she was looking for. And she saw the kelp and went to the kelp. And she saw the sand and went to the sand. And then she saw a shell and remembered she liked shells.

Then she saw another shell.

Then another one.

Then I gasped. And without warning, two dams broke and tears comically poured down my face, down my neck and all over the front of my t-shirt.

Shells.

Rows and rows and rows of shells. Lined up by her parents who knew that one day she’d come back and one day she’d follow one of the many paths of shells they had been laying out every day since she went missing.

And now, for the foreseeable future, every time I think about that one scene, I’ll just break down crying. If you see it happening, just do me a favour and politely ignore me.