The ways in which couch shopping is basically dating (or so I thought)

When I decided it was time for me to buy a couch, I was prepared for all kinds of disaster.

One thing I learned about shopping from my mom is if I hum and haw over an item, I have to ask myself if it says yes. If it doesn’t, then it’s not worth my time. And so I was ready to apply the same attitude to couch shopping, knowing full well I would not find the one right away – especially because the one would have to be a chaise/loveseat sectional, or so I decided after scrolling through as many furniture sites as I could and looking around my tiny cozy living room.

So when I started my search, I was prepared for a lot of humming and hawing. Basically, I was prepared to go out into the couch world as (I assume) other people go out into the dating world. And I was not looking forward to it.

Here were some of my concerns:

  • I wanted to make sure I found the right one because I did not want to settle.
  • I didn’t want anything too fun that I would resent in a few years.
  • I was looking for the right long-term investment; something that would hold up over time.
  • I was worried about how many subpar options I’d have to look through to find the right one.
  • Would there be a moment when I would be tempted to settle? Would I settle? How many couches do you look at and try out and talk up until you just pick the next available one?
  • What if I got something that looked great on display but just didn’t work in my life?
  • What were the chances that I would just end up with something cheap and Swedish?
  • Would I have what it takes make a real committed investment?

And then I went out looking at furniture stores. As I was driving, I told myself that I was not wanting to buy a couch. I was just looking. I did not want to put any money down on anything. I just wanted to look at my options.

And then I stepped into Urban Barn Outlet. A store that I have loved for years. Ever since high school, I would wander around Urban Barn and plan out my future urban loft (because every teenager wanted a loft, obviously).

I walked past couches, a blue one, a black one, a yellow one, none of them chaise/loveseats. None of them caught my eye.

And then I saw it.

It was grey (my favourite colour even though it’s not a colour, as my family has told me before). It was a chaise/loveseat. It was different enough than most that I’d seen that it wasn’t classified as too trendy. It had the tapered hardwood legs that I liked in too-fancy-for-me couches. And it was nearly 50 per cent off.

The first couch I saw? Really? That wasn’t possible.

I measured, and it was definitely possible. But not wanting to lose my chance, I put a hold on it until the next day. None of the couches we looked in other stores even came close. Ikea, too, was a huge let-down compared to the one I had already found.

The one.

The next day, the store called to tell me someone had put a second hold on it and, if I wanted it, I would have to get there before my hold expired.

And so it was decided. The couch I couldn’t stop thinking about. The one that had been love at first sight. The couch of my dreams was purchased that day, brought home the next and enjoyed ever since.

Leave a Reply

