Confession: I feel the need to constantly cite my sources

It’s a problem. And it’s a problem I don’t know how to fix.

I blame a guy named Ken.

I told a Demetri Martin joke in high school and he laughed so hard, I thought he was going to pass out. As the laughter died down, I mentioned that it wasn’t my joke. The look on his face was one of betrayal.

Ever since then, I’ve cited my sources. When I make a joke that is someone else’s, I preface it with, “There’s this hilarious comedian John Mulaney – you should watch both his Netflix specials – who has a joke about shushing animals.”

Sometimes it’s even worse. Like when I make a reference to a TV show and immediately have to explain the premise of the show and characters’ backgrounds. What follows is often an awkward period of time in which I quote the scene verbatim to fully explain the reference.

Even though I know no one cares.

*Why am I like this meme*

Leave a Reply

