Movies that make me cry: Arrival

Not all movies make me cry. I’m not necessarily a major weeper, but if a movie or a TV show strikes just the right chord, then my tears are a melody of all my feels.

That being said, there are some movies that make me cry more than most – and make me cry every time I watch them. This is one of those movies. (Beware: there are obviously spoilers.)

If you haven’t watched this movie and you haven’t heeded my warning above, I beg you, please stop reading and go watch it.

No, seriously.

If you’re still reading, what is wrong with you? This movie is one that needs to be seen and experienced so that you too can sit in a movie theatre with your jaw hanging open in a state of shock.

Just, go away.

For those who have seen it and agree that it’s tear-worthy, I welcome you.

Remember that moment? That moment you realize? That moment when she says “I don’t have a child” and then your brain explodes?

And then when you realize she kept going in life. She married him. She had a baby with him. She raised that daughter of hers knowing, completely knowing, what would happen.

She agreed to fall in love with a man knowing her marriage would fall apart. She agreed to fall in love with this child knowing she’d be taken away from her too soon.

It’s tear-worthy because it shows that knowing how something will end doesn’t negate everything that happens until then. If anything, it can make you love more deeply and enjoy every moment so much more.

She knew her daughter would die, but she also knew her daughter would live. She’d get to play with her and tickle her and make her laugh and fight with her and hug her and put her to bed and watch her sleep. She knew her daughter would have a life, however short, and she’d be part of every moment of it.

A lot of this is what I processed after the movie ended. As I sat in my car and then sat on my couch in silence, going over what I had just watched and trying to come to grips with the profundity of it.

Because this little blog post doesn’t even begin to mention the whole other side of that movie, with language and humanity and what it means and how poignant it all is.

If you did continue reading when I told you not to, now it’s time for you to watch the movie so you actually know what I’m talking about.

Leave a Reply

