Movies that make me cry: Angels in the Outfield

Not all movies make me cry. I’m not necessarily a major weeper, but if a movie or a TV show strikes just the right chord, then my tears are a melody of all my feels.

That being said, there are some movies that make me cry more than most – and make me cry every time I watch them. This is one of those movies. (Beware: there are obviously spoilers.)

You might think that the ’90s baseball family-friendly classic Angels in the Outfield isn’t a tear-worthy movie, but you would be wrong.

There’s something about foster kid JGL (Joseph Gordon-Levitt, for the uninformed) that makes your heart break but, even more than that, there’s the story of his best friend JP.

If you don’t remember JP, you need not feel heartless. Watch Angels again and in the midst of wondering how you forgot Matthew McConaughey and Adrien Brody were L.A. Angels (the baseball team not the winged beings), you will feel your heart wrenched by JP’s short back story.

JGL explains it best when Danny Glover is about to take them home in his wee Porsche:

“JP doesn’t ride in cars.”

“What’s the problem? He gets carsick?”

“Sort of. He used to live in a car with his mom. He slept in the front seat all curled up like a cat or something and when he gets in a car, his stomach ache comes back.”

Break my heart, JGL and JP.

Break my heart and let the tears fall.

Leave a Reply

