Movies that make me cry: Frank

Not all movies make me cry. I’m not necessarily a major weeper, but if a movie or a TV show strikes just the right chord, then my tears are a melody of all my feels.

That being said, there are some movies that make me cry more than most – and make me cry every time I watch them. This is one of those movies. (Beware: there are obviously spoilers.)

What is Frank, you ask?

The better question is, who is Frank?

Frank is an eccentric musician, played by Michael Fassbender, who spends the majority of the time hidden inside a giant head. That is until he’s forced out of said head and the movie goes from being a comedy to a heart-wrenching drama.

Netflix recently added this little movie and, I noticed, put it under “comedies.”

It sure seems like a comedy from the trailer. And it sure seems like a comedy from the first 90 per cent of the film. But then you watch the last, oh, maybe ten or twenty minutes? And suddenly your heart has broken more than it has ever broken before. And you leave the tiny movie theatre (the only one showing Frank in all of western Canada) feeling really stupid holding the Frank mask the movie theatre employees gave you. Because it’s not just about an amusing guy in a funny giant head. It’s about mental illness. And it will break your heart.

As soon as Domhnall Gleeson’s character pushes Frank too far and chases him into traffic where Frank gets hit by a car and, as a result, loses his giant head, the movie’s theme changes drastically.

And then, after a time, Domhnall is contacted by someone who knows where Frank is. He’s at his parents. And that’s when Domhnall – and the audience – get to see the real Frank. And his perfectly wonderful parents explain some very real truths about mental illness. And Fassbender breaks your heart with his unbelievable acting ability.

And then he’s reunited with his band. And sings a hauntingly poignant song. And you’re left a different person.

Forever a different person.

One thought on “Movies that make me cry: Frank

  1. Pingback: Movies that make me cry: Fundamentals of Caring | Just Comma,

Leave a comment