Confession: If I like a song, I’ll listen to it until it dies

Or until I no longer like it.

Or until I find another song I like better.

Some people may think that listening to just one song on repeat is an indication of someone who would appreciate the comfort of a padded room.

But it’s not like I’m listening to the same song over and over again, expecting a different result.

I know the result. The result is enjoyment. So in that sense, top 40 radio channels can, at times, be perfect for me. Because all they do is play the same ten songs over and over and over and over and over and over and over again.

The only problem is I usually don’t like all ten songs. I’d really rather only listen to one song, but they don’t like it when you call in every four minutes and request the same song again.

Outside of hit radio land, there are a number of songs that help me work when they’re played on repeat.

At the moment, that song is “I See Fire” by Ed Sheeran. Not only does it make me think of The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, but its pleasant moodiness magically enables me to write.

For whatever reason, Ed + Smaug = productivity.

One thought on “Confession: If I like a song, I’ll listen to it until it dies

  1. Is there any other way to listen to music? There was a time in my life where I could have sworn 50% of my waking hours (from birth to current age) were spent listening to “Five Days in May” by Blue Rodeo.

Leave a Reply

