Movies that make me cry: Despicable Me

Not all movies make me cry. I’m not necessarily a major weeper, but if a movie or a TV show strikes just the right chord, then my tears are a melody of all my feels.

That being said, there are some movies that make me cry more than most – and make me cry every time I watch them. This is one of those movies. (Beware: there are obviously spoilers.)

Before you judge me, just try not to judge me.

Despicable Me is cute and funny and fluffy. It’s random and not exactly the movie that you think would make a person cry.

But every time I watch it, there’s one moment that makes me tear up like that. (Oh, you didn’t see me snap my fingers, did you? Well, I hope you didn’t, because that’d be weird.)

The oldest girl, Margo, needs to jump from Vector’s weird little airship to Gru’s. Margo is clearly more jaded than her younger sisters when it comes to trusting this guy who already gave them up once, and is uncertain of whether she can trust him in this ridiculously dangerous moment.

And then Gru yells out, “Margo, I will catch you! And I’ll never let you go again!”

And then I blink a few more times than I normally do to try and push back the visible feels in the hopes that no one saw me react emotionally in what should be a cute, funny, fluffy kids’ movie.

Leave a Reply

