New Sound of Music commentary

There are some of those movies that you watch once and you don’t have to watch ever again. And then there are those other movies you watch again and again and again. They’re like a warm hug from Olaf or a comforting blankie you definitely don’t still sleep with.

I’m talking about things like Pride and Prejudice, anything written or touched by Nora Ephron and, of course, The Sound of Music. I could watch them on loop and never grow tired of them. I still watch with anticipation to see if Lizzy and Darcy will get together or if Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan will ever get over the obstacles between them or if the Captain will ever realize he’s in love with Maria.

sound of music

You may be judging me for not holding up those great cinematic classics like Gone with the Wind (which was the longest waste of time I’ve ever had the misfortune of experiencing) or Citizen Kane (which I saw once in a film class and have no burning desire to see again).

To be fair, though, I’m not a complete idiot who refuses to appreciate classic movies. I have a special place in my heart for Casablanca and I thoroughly and surprisingly enjoyed Hitchcock’s Rear Window (surprising in that I didn’t think my meek little fearful child self would enjoy such a thriller). But as far as my personal favourites go, they have to be something I could watch an endless number of times because I’m able to see something new with each viewing.

About a year ago, my friend and I, sitting on our respective couches, couldn’t decide what to watch (as you’ll see in the dialogue between the two of us). We eventually settled on that oh-so-wonderful classic, The Sound of Music. Much gushing subsequently transpired. And much hating on Rolfe and the baroness who are both the very definition of the worst. Also, fun fact, we had only recently learned that the Captain’s name was in fact “Georg” and not “Gayorg” which is how we both thought his name was spelled for far too long.

Hopefully you enjoy our musings on one of the greatest movies of all time – at least in our not-so-humble opinion.

Click here to read it.

Leave a Reply

