The changing face of my Pinterest self

Back when I worked at my university paper The Cascade, I wrote an article titled, “The truth behind my Pinterest boards.” In it, I described the identity crisis I was having:

“Pinterest has given me a false sense of self.

Either that or it has given me an alternative self. One that posts deliciously complicated recipes and renovation plans for a home that I do not own.”

But in the last year I’ve noticed a shift in my pinning habits. No longer do I pin projects I’ll never get to or recipes I’ll forget about. When I want to cook something, I just google the recipe. When I want to know how to fix something, I just google the solutions. I don’t know if I’ve ever perused the pins I’ve already pinned, except when waiting in the doctor’s office and needing to somehow fill the time by staring at my phone.

But I’ve since uncovered a different side of Pinterest.

I’ve uncovered the fandoms.

And I know the exact cause of that shift.

There was an uncertain mix of emotions when I had my last class of university. It was a Monday. (I remember it was a Monday because I only had one class that last semester on Mondays and Wednesdays and the previous Wednesday was what I had originally thought would be my last day; but after that second-to-last class, my friends and peers broke the truth to me.) And then that Monday happened. And I knew I was one final exam away from no longer identifying myself as a student.

And it was rough.

I was entering the shadow of the looming question mark. I knew it was coming. I had known it was coming ever since I decided to go to school to get my BA in English. I was reminded of the looming question mark every time someone asked me what I was going to school for. I knew their suspicions. I felt their judgments. I would either be a perma-student or I would leave with student loan debt and work in retail for the rest of my life trying to pay it off. I tried to combat these doubts by signing up for co-op work programs I never actually pursued. I would ignore the warnings at student journalism conferences after I started working for the school newspaper. And I would put on a brave face when my family tiptoed around the “what are you going to do?” question with worried glances as I got closer and closer to convocation.

As soon as I graduated, I knew my student journalism career would be over. After all, you have to be a student to work at the student newspaper, and I was nearing the end of that comforting gestation period of nearly three years in our green-walled office filled with laughter, Nerf guns and inside jokes.

So I knew I needed a distraction as I poked away at the paper, half-heartedly studied for my final final and uncertainly started sending out my resume to mute hiring committees.

Enter Doctor Who.

Before you judge me … oh, never mind. Judge away. I still judge me. But then I remember how amazing that show is and how brilliant the writers are and how wonderful each Doctor has been. (For the record, I’ve only seen the most recent regenerated series. I’ve never seen Classic Who from the ‘60s and ‘70s and ‘80s and a smidgen in the ‘90s.)

And then that combined with my already growing obsession with BBC’s Sherlock made me open my eyes to the online fandom of these brilliant shows.

And me and my Pinterest boards haven’t looked back since.

We just keep calm, carry on and join new fandoms.

4 thoughts on “The changing face of my Pinterest self

  1. I believe that is among the so much important info for me.

    And i am happy studying your article. But wanna commentary on some normal things,
    The web site style is perfect, the articles is in reality excellent
    : D. Good activity, cheers

  2. Pingback: Confession: Some decor confuses me | Just Comma,

Leave a Reply

