Movies that make me cry: Dear Frankie

Not all movies make me cry. I’m not necessarily a major weeper, but if a movie or a TV show strikes just the right chord, then my tears are a melody of all my feels.

That being said, there are some movies that make me cry more than most – and make me cry every time I watch them. This is one of those movies. (Beware the spoilers. Seriously. This one has a pretty big spoiler. So if you haven’t seen it and you appreciate a sweet, Scotland-set, spoiler-free tearjerker, don’t read past the trailer.)

Just one line. This movie just takes one line and I’m a complete and total mess.

“Frankie wasn’t born deaf. That was a present from his daddy.”

And then the look on Gerard Butler’s face. A look that goes through a range of emotions from disgust to anger to wanting to protect this woman and her son to wanting to give this young boy he’s just met everything his real father stole from him.

And from that point on, there’s no point in trying to hold back the tears. I just let them fall. Every look. Every moment. Everything from then on just squeezes my tear ducts dry.

I really shouldn’t write these things as I watch these movies.

My mascara is gone.

This Kleenex is useless.

Damn good sad movie.

Leave a Reply

